Annual Photo Contest

Hit us with your best shot! Best photograph that is!
Keep your camera in hand and participate in our 2021 Photo Contest.

Maryland Milestones/ATHA Inc. continues its successful annual photo contest to capture the beauty, history, people, and distinctive character of the Anacostia Trails Heritage Area. Winning images become the basis for our yearly calendar.

This program will form a basis to showcase the region and remind residents and visitors of what makes this Area a unique place to celebrate and preserve!

Deadline for entries is September 27, 2020.

What to Photograph

Please make sure your subject matter is within the Heritage Area. (Click here for a map. NOT ALL LOCATIONS ON THE ANACOSTIA RIVER ARE WITHIN OUR HERITAGE AREA. A panel of judges selects the images to be used in the calendar.



Rivers to Rockets

Distinctive architecture, unique constructed landscapes, historic downtowns, sites that showcase unique history.

For the Fun of It

People having fun at community related events and activities, e.g., cycling the Tributary Trail, fishing, festivals, concerts, etc.

Expressions of Art

Performing and visual arts, residents experiencing arts and culture, arts festivals, cultural programs

Nature of the Area

Landscapes, waterscapes, wildlife, plants, the natural rivers, the beauty of the seasons

2021 Contest Documents (pdf) –

2019 Winners

  • Constantia Rioux
  • Sharon Garrison
  • Adam Brockett
  • Millie Tansil
  • Andrea Desautels
  • James Wilkinson
  • Bruce Smith
  • Abby Tesfaye Perotta
  • plus pictures from Ann Bennett (Laurel Historical Society) and the ATHA Inc. collection

2018 Winners

  • Constantia Rioux
  • Kathryn Beard
  • Meagan Baco/Preservation Maryland
  • Sharon Garrison
  • Jared Kofsky
  • Alvin Mahoney

2017 Winners

  • Kevin McDonald
  • Joe DiGiovanni
  • Sharon Garrison
  • Bruce McNeil
  • Constantia Rioux
  • Kathryn Beard

2016 Winners

  • Marketa Ebert (Mount Rainier, MD)
  • Victoria Cheeseman (Greenbelt, MD)
  • Joe DiGiovanni (Laurel, MD)
  • Constantia L. Rioux (College Park, MD)
  • James Wilkinson (Berwyn Heights, MD)
  • Trish Newberg (Mount Rainier, MD)

2015 Winners

  • Jamal Samuels (Mount Rainier, MD)
  • Laurie Lemieux (Greenbelt, MD)
  • Joe DiGiovanni (Laurel, MD)
  • John Caine Jr. (Laurel, MD)
  • Andrea Marcavitch (Greenbelt, MD)
  • Mildred Taveras (Bowie, MD)

2014 Winners

  • John Caine Jr. (Laurel, MD)
  • Colleen Kelley (Cottage City, MD)
  • Sarah Rogers (Annapolis, MD)
  • Joe DiGiovanni (Laurel, MD)
  • Emily Moy (Brentwood, MD)
  • Sarah Demetrides (Baltimore, MD)

2013 Winners

  • Bruce Smith (Bowie, MD)
  • Cynthia Cummins (Greenbelt, MD)
  • Kathy Galleher (Riverdale, MD)
  • John Caine Jr. (Laurel, MD)
  • Alice Murray (Greenbelt, MD)
  • Marvene Ewell (Greenbelt, MD)
  • Joe Irwin

2012 Winners

  • Kathryn Breon (Greenbelt, MD)
  • Tom Cardarella (Mount Rainier, MD)
  • Colleen Kelley (Cottage City, MD)
  • Suzette Agans (Greenbelt, MD)
  • Matt Johnson (Greenbelt, MD)
  • Nora Simon (Greenbelt, MD)
  • Shannon Wyss (Hyattsville, MD)

Contact Aaron Marcavitch
(301) 887-0777