About Maryland Milestones


Maryland Milestones, a brand established in 2012 by Anacostia Trails Heritage Area Inc., highlights the first and unique moments which have occurred (or are occurring) in the Maryland Certified Anacostia Trails Heritage Area. This program brings information about these “milestones” to the public and makes connections between the history, culture, and nature of the region. Additionally, the Maryland Milestones brand emphasizes the importance travel, trade, and communication have played in the region – through turnpikes, highways, parkways, aviation, streetcars, telegraphs, and train travel. This program involves updating signage, creating information kiosks, building a heritage center, and development of interpretive heritage routes.


About Anacostia Trails Heritage Area (ATHA):


The Anacostia Trails Heritage Area is one of 13 Heritage Areas certified by the State of Maryland under the Maryland Heritage Areas Authority. Certified in 2001, the region encompasses over 100 square miles of Northern Prince Georges County – bordered by Washington, D.C. to the south, Montgomery County to the West, Howard and Anne Arundel County to the North and encompassing portions of Bowie, Glenn Dale, and Cheverly to the East. This eastern boundary was amended in 2017.


The Heritage Area is managed by Anacostia Trails Heritage Area Inc.  ATHA Inc. is dedicated to preserving and promoting the historical, artistic, cultural, and natural resources of the Certified Heritage Area. ATHA Inc. performs its work through partnerships, programs and grantmaking. Our partnerships include Federal partners (Beltsville Agricultural Research Center, NASA Goddard, Greenbelt National Park, and the Patuxent Wildlife Refuge); State Partners (MHAA, Office of Tourism Development) Regional Partners (Prince George’s Conference and Visitors Bureau, Maryland-National Capital Parks and Planning Commission, Prince George’s County); and local partners, sites, and municipalities. Our participating municipalities are Bladensburg, Colmar Manor, Cottage City, Edmonston, Berwyn Heights, Greenbelt, College Park, Mt. Rainier, Hyattsville, Brentwood, North Brentwood, Riverdale Park, University Park, the Beltsville area, Bowie, Cheverly, and unincorporated areas around Glenn Dale.


ATHA Inc. has a governing/advisory board made up of representatives from our partner communities to set goals and a Managing Board which oversees the day-to-day operations. We are a 501(c)3 organization under the IRS code. The organization originally served in an advisory capacity to the Redevelopment Authority of Prince Georges County. In 2010 the organization took full operation of the Heritage Area.


IRS 990 Filings & Audits:

Managing Board

Ariel Trahan   President Anacostia Watershed Society
Alfonso Navarez   Vice-President AEON Preservation Consultants
Tracey Toscano   Secretary  
Stefan Woelke   Treasurer Culinary Tour Consultant
Karyn McAlister   Planning/Bike & Ped  
Dennis Doster   Historic Sites Prince George’s Parks and Recreation/Black History Program
Jonathan Ebbeler   Community Member  
Trevor Owens   Public & Digital History University of Maryland
Kacy Rohn   Planning/Preservation  
Carl Smith   Marketing PGC Conference & Visitor’s Bureau
Ivy Thompson   Planning M-NCPPC
Neena Narayanan   Arts & Culture  
Aaron Marcavitch   Executive Director  
Kirstin Falk   Program Manager  

Governing Board

Edward Day   Director, Riversdale House Museum M-NCPPC Natural and Historic Resources
David Lingua   Councilmember Town of Riverdale Park
Sadara Barrow   Mayor Town of Colmar Manor
Ben Simasek   Councilmember City of Hyattsville
Emmett Jordan   Mayor pro tempe City of Greenbelt
Regina Morlan   Councilmember Town of Brentwood
Sarah Turberville   Councilmember Town of Edmonston
Gloria Apricio Blackwell   Office of Community Engagement University of Maryland
Malinda Miles   Mayor City of Mount Rainier
TBD     Town of Cottage City
TBD   Director PGC Conference & Visitor’s Bur.
Petrella Robinson   Mayor Town of North Brentwood
Terry Shum   Planning Office Staff City of College Park
Lee Fuerst   Historical Committee Town of Berwyn Heights
Len Carey   Mayor Town of University Park
Takisha James   Mayor Town of Bladensburg
TBD     Town of Cheverly
TBD     City of Bowie
Audrey Barnes   Director of Communications  City of Laurel
Linda Thompson    President Glenn Dale Citizens Association
TBD     Beltsville/Vansville Community Association